Welcome to the Adventure!

Welcome to my adventure!  I’m so glad you’re here.  Pull up a comfy chair, grab a cuppa something and let’s chat.

Quite a few folks have told me I should be blogging this life adventure I’m on, so I finally did it.  I hope to post on Tuesdays and Fridays for awhile.  I’m new at this, so we’ll see how it goes!  Oh- and do feel free to post questions and comments.  I’ll be happy to answer anything I can.  🙂

God deals with us as individuals- and I’m certainly a ‘peculiar people’ as the KJV puts it.  I hope my story will encourage and inspire you, as well as provide food for thought along the way.  Ultimately, I hope it draws all of us closer to the Lord Jesus.  Even if we disagree on practice or fine points of doctrine, let’s continue to love and pray for one another!

Guess I’ll start with the short version of my faith journey.  In the Southern Baptist tradition, I was saved at age 14, some 40 years ago.  Later that same year, I was introduced to the Charismatic gifts of the Holy Spirit and received the gift of tongues.  In the past 40 years, I’ve attended the same Baptist church in two different time periods, the same Charismatic church in two different time periods, and I’ve also been away from my faith for a few years.  Oh, did I mention that my folks sent me to Sunday School in the Lutheran church?  I love to read, pray, and study.  I love to worship with music- any style of music from Gregorian chant to contemporary rock.  Currently, I’m preparing to enter the Catholic church.  Hold on- you Protestants can put those stones down already!  😉   All of that is part of my story.   It’s definitely been an adventure!

For the other parts of my life, I was adopted at birth into a wonderful family.  That story will be told in a later blog.  Mom taught me to read and to sew; Daddy taught me nearly everything else I know.  In school, I was always a straight A student.  I love the beautiful Spanish language, but after many years of classes, I still can’t speak it – or understand the natives as they rattle it off.  I was a tomboy, loving cars and mechanical stuff and the construction trades.  My dream car would be a chopped and lowered ’46 Chevy pickup truck.  I’ve worked in offices, owned an auto body shop, and helped my dad in the drywall business.  I’ve tried (mostly unsuccessfully) to sell all sorts of direct market stuff, from needlework kits to Amway.  At the local community college, I majored in vocal music; I play at the 12-string guitar.  I have a Certificate in Biblical Studies.  I’d love to go back to school and finish a degree!  Years ago, I wrote a book which was self-published.  Skydiving (tandem) was the ultimate rush, and I own a motorcycle.  I’ve been married, divorced, and a single mom.  Now I’m a grandma!  Along the way, I did a stint in rehab; God used AA to save my life and bring me back to Himself.  Dogs are my favorite animal, I tolerate cats.  I love a good steak, tea whether hot or cold, and chocolate.

I think that covers the high points.  Let the telling of the adventure begin!

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the Adventure!

Leave a Reply

