Wisdom from the Pumpkins

Howdy!  How’s everyone today?  All ready with your costumes, games, food, kids, etc?  Great!  Well, take a break.  Grab your favorite cuppa and find a comfy seat.  I want to talk for a minute or two about how Halloween got started, why, and share a couple of pumpkin things.  Ready? 

I think I’ve mentioned more than once how much I love Pinterest.  I’ve learned so much there – and not just crafty things, either!   Here’s a link to a page with a coloring book for “Finding the Truth in Halloween” found on looktohimandberadiant.blogspot.com.  It’s a four-page Catholic teaching coloring book for kids.  I’ll borrow just a bit of it here.

The name Halloween comes from an older name for October 31st, All Hallows Eve.  Trick or treating started when poor people would go door to door promising to pray for deceased members of the family, in exchange for food or a treat.  Costumes were worn as people dressed up like ghosts or demons to make fun of them, because they knew that Christ had won the battle over sin and death.  It became a tradition to decorate with skulls and other symbols of death to remind us that we will all die and must rely on Christ for our salvation.

I didn’t know all that before, did you?  The holiday has quite a tradition in the Catholic Church, being the eve before All Saints Day and All Souls Day.

 

There is a “Pumpkin Prayer” that you can pray while you carve your pumpkin.  It goes like this:

Open my mind, so I can learn about You; (Cut off the top)

Take away all my sin and forgive me for the wrong things I do; (Clean out the Inside)

Open my eyes so Your love I will see; (Cut two eyes)

I’m sorry for turning up my nose to all You’ve given me. (Cut a nose)

Open my ears so Your Word I will hear; (Cut two ears)

Open my mouth to tell others You’re near; (Cut a mouth)

Let Your light shine in me so that others can see. (Place a Candle Inside)

My Happy Little Pumpkin Shows How Much God Loves Me!

This is from positivelysplendid.com via Pinterest.

 

Finally, there’s a great analogy between the Christian and the pumpkin.   I’ve seen it lots of places, so I didn’t mention a specific credit.  It’s been around the internet and on Facebook and Pinterest lots of times.

Being a Christian is like being a pumpkin.   God picks you from the patch, brings you in and washes the dirt off of you.  He opens you up and scoops out all the yucky stuff, including seeds of doubt, hate, greed, etc.  Then He carves you a new smiling face and puts His light inside you to shine for all the world to see.

 

I know this blog is shorter than usual, but hopefully you’ve learned a thing or two.   And maybe you’re ready to live differently than you’ve been living…  maybe you’d like to be like the pumpkin – all cleaned up and filled with light.  It’s very simple, and there are always folks who can help you on that journey.   As usual, find a priest or a pastor, or a friend you know who is a Christian, and ask them.  They’ll be so glad to help!

So, go on, let your light shine and have a good time tonight!  Happy All Hallows Eve!

Leave a Reply

