Come Adore Him

Merry Christmas!!!  We made it!  Today is December 24, Christmas Eve day.   Just so you know, this will be my only post this week.  Read it twice if you want.  😉   Today I want to do something different.  I don’t want to get comfy with a cuppa anything.  I want to focus with laser intensity on the Reason for the Season.  Sometime in the next 36 hours or so, let’s spend some time with Joseph and Mary, the wise men and the shepherds, bowing at the manger before Christ the King.

We’ve spent four weeks getting ready for this day.  We’ve spent four weeks boldly allowing the Holy Spirit to search our hearts and show us what’s in there.  We’ve spent four weeks in prayer and repentance, asking that we could be more like Jesus, that He could be born anew in our own hearts this Christmas.  We’ve asked Jesus what HE wants for Christmas.  So, now, let’s give it to Him.

Let me be really transparent here.  I don’t live this perfectly, not even close.  But this is my heart of hearts, this is what I know to be true.  He wants me.  He wants all of me.  That’s all I have to give, anyway, and even that’s a gift He already gave me.  There’s nothing I have or am that He didn’t initiate.  The very breath in my lungs, the very beat of my heart, even the very desire to seek and adore Him comes from His grace.  “We love, because He first loved us.”  1 John 4:19.

I want nothing more than to be with Him, and to be like Him.  I have nothing to give that He didn’t first give me, so I’ll give Him everything.  I’ll attend Mass on Christmas Eve and again on Christmas Day, not from obligation, but because I love Him, because I’m grateful.  Those are some of my favorite worship times.  I love the music, the incense, the candles, the Scripture readings, the prayers.  I love the way I can use my entire being in worship – listening, singing, praying, reading, standing, sitting, kneeling.  I will enter in as completely as I am able, give Him every last bit of praise in my heart, and give Him every last bit of me.  I will lavish all the love I can find on Him, unashamed.  I will probably cry at some point, or many points, overwhelmed with gratitude for the gift He gave us at the manger in Bethlehem; not to mention the continuous tidal wave of grace I’ve been receiving most of this year.

Like Mary, I’ll ponder in my heart the humility and gentleness of a transcendent God who would come as a human infant to save humanity from itself.  With the stars in the heavens, I’ll wonder at the God of the Universe with unfathomable power and riches, who would lay it all aside, and take on human poverty.  With the kings of the East, I’ll give Him the finest of whatever I have, and will bow before this baby who will someday rule the universe, knowing that He already does.  With the shepherds, I’ll come humbly, knowing myself fully; yet knowing even more fully that He loves me and accepts me just as I am, while still inviting me to become more.  With the angels, I’ll look on, awestruck, and sing praise to God at the top of my lungs for this indescribable gift.

I invite you to join me.  Find a church and worship Christ the newborn King.  If you find that you have questions or have things you need to say to Him, but don’t know where to start, that’s okay.  Find a pastor or a priest and they will be oh so glad to help you come closer to Him on His birthday.  What better present could you give Him?

O Come, let us adore Him.

O Come, let us adore Him.

O Come, let us adore Him,

Christ  the Lord!

 

And if by chance you weren’t on a computer over Christmas, that’s okay, too.  It’s never too late to worship and seek pastoral help if you are unsure of what to do next.  If you have questions, or need someone to talk to or to pray with you, go ahead and find a pastor or priest.  They will be so glad to help!

Leave a Reply

