Heart to Heart

Hi there!   I know we’re out of February, practically into April, but I love hearts.  So, grab a cuppa, a warm spot (it’s below zero this morning!) and let’s talk.  I love hearts.  I love the little red ones, the big pink ones, the quilted hearts, the candy hearts, the chocolate ones.  But I love another heart even more.  I love Jesus’ heart for me. 

It seems like a strange pairing, but I think of the story of Midas.  The fable goes that he wanted everything he touched to turn to gold.  And he got his wish.   But that story has a drawback – EVERYTHING he touched turned to gold – his bed, his food, even his beautiful daughter.   You can read the story here.   (He soon learned that gold wasn’t the best thing in the world, and repented, and the curse was removed.)

The parallel is this:  As Jesus touches my heart with His heart, may mine become His heart, transformed into His heart by His touch.

Sacred Scripture tells us over and over that He loves us, is patient, kind, forgiving, slow to anger…  He loves completely, unconditionally.   Even if He has to discipline us in our rebellion or just plain stubbornness, it’s out of love.  He loves us into a better life.  He loves us into being in a place where we can receive His blessings.  He loves us until we’re clean and progressing in holiness.

I love how forgiving He is!   I want to be like that, too.   Jesus make my heart like Your heart.

I love how gentle and kind He can be.   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His honesty.   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His prayer life!   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His generosity – with His time, with His words of praise and encouragement.  Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His willing obedience to His Father’s will.   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His lack of prejudice, His impartiality.   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His purity.  Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

I love His joy!  Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.

 

I’m sure you get the idea.   What things do you love most about Jesus?  Which of His attributes would you like to see in your own life?  Where would you like Him to touch your heart and make it like His heart?  The ‘Jesus touch’?

Do you ever pray “The Lord’s Prayer” aka “The Our Father”?   Did you pay attention to what you were praying?  That His kingdom would come and that His will would be done… and that He would forgive us as we forgive others.  That’s asking Him to make your heart like His heart.

So, what about it.  Are you ready to ask Him to make your heart like His heart?  Or do you still have questions, lingering doubts, or you’re just not sure?  It’s okay to talk to someone about these things.  Find a pastor or priest and have a conversation.  They can answer your questions, explain what you’re having trouble understanding, and can pray with you if you like.  Don’t be embarrassed to ask questions or share your doubts.  These men would love to answer your questions, give you whatever reassurance you need, and pray with you.

What a perfect prayer for Lent:   Jesus, make my heart like Your heart.   What a perfect Easter gift – from us to Him, as we ask to be like Him; from Him to us, as He answers that prayer and makes our heart like His heart.

How much more joyful will Palm Sunday be, when our heart and His heart beat together!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

