Government. Ugh? or Amen!

Hey there!   How is everybody?   Grab a glass of tea and find someplace comfy.  Put your feet up for a minute!  It’s been pretty cool here today, we had some storms last night and are expecting storms and rain for the rest of the week, I guess.  I’ve lived in Kansas all my life, so storms don’t generally bother me.  Last night, it was bad enough that I gathered things together and took the dog to the basement.   It pretty much blew through, and THEN the sirens went off.

I’ve been thinking for the past week or so about our government and the mess we seem to be in here in America.  If you believe the Scriptures, and hold to traditional values, this past week has been tough.  I’m sorry, but right and wrong don’t change just because somebody yells loudly enough; blue isn’t going to become red just because somebody keeps saying it is.  Red is red, blue is blue and that’s that.

Part of what I was thinking about though, is how we got here.  We’ve re-defined so many things that we really don’t have the authority to define.  It’s showing up like a landslide these days.  It’s easy to blame any number of things or groups.  But really, who did this to us?  You may not like my answer.

We did this to us.  We’ve seen the enemy and it’s us.  We grew complacent, we grew ‘tolerant’, we grew quiet.  First, prayer was taken out of schools – and we didn’t stand up to oppose that.  We had Roe v. Wade and abortion was legal – and we didn’t stand up to oppose that.  The media became more and more liberal, the entertainment industry became more and more indecent, and we kept right on going to movies and supporting them with our money.  We stood by when school children stopped saying the pledge of allegiance to the American flag because ‘it might offend someone’.  Courthouses across the nation removed the Ten Commandments, and we simply stood by and watched.  Last week, “our Supreme Court” ruled for legalizing same sex marriage.

It’s complicated.  No doubt there are multiple intertwined realities when we’re talking American politics.  It seems like it takes mega millions in the bank just to run for office these days.  How often do we grumble and complain, then sigh, and just feel helpless?  I think there are actually a couple of things we can do, short of getting into politics ourselves.

First, we can check our own beliefs and behaviors.  We can see that we do not practice or condone by our silence what the Bible determines is sin.  And I don’t mean that we all go out, as I’ve seen done lately, and try to re-interpret the Scriptures to show that for 2000 years, we’ve had it wrong.  Sorry, don’t think so.  I mean that we need to pull out a set of ‘old fashioned’ values and see if we line up.  The real way to fix a society is to start at the grass roots – me.  If everybody works on ‘me’, the entire character of society can change.

Secondly, we can pray.   Yes, I still firmly believe in the power of prayer.  Do every one of my prayers get answered?  Yes!  Sometimes the answer is ‘no’, sometimes it’s ‘not now’, but every single one of my prayers is answered.

The challenge is this:  to pray consistently, with some measure of faith, even when things look so daunting.  Go back through your Old Testament, and see how often God gave victory in answer to fervent prayer, against overwhelming odds.  It’s everywhere.

Last weekend, a priest told me that prayer works, but we must also pray for Godly candidates.  I’d further say that we need to live Godly and raise Godly children to become candidates.

1 Timothy 2:1-2:  “First of all, then, I urge that entreaties and prayers, petitions and thanksgivings, be made on behalf of all men, for kings and all who are in authority, so that we may lead a tranquil and quiet life in all godliness and dignity.” –NASB   2 Chronicles 7:14: [If] My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

How about it?  Do you measure up in your own life?  Do you need to step up your prayers?  Do you need some help?  Find a pastor or priest.  They would be so happy to help you put our own life in order with the Scriptures, and also to help you strengthen your prayer life.  Let’s start at the real grass roots and fix our society.

Leave a Reply

