God’s Faithfulness

Hey there!   It’s been quite a week…  as I write this, I’m in Ohio.  We’re a long way from Kansas, Dorothy!  But it’s been an amazing week of God’s faithfulness.   Grab a cuppa and find a comfy spot.  The weather in Ohio is about what it is in Kansas right now – clear, sunny, upper 70’s and gorgeous!   This was truly a God-ordained trip.   Ever felt His nudge and then everybody around you looked at you a little sideways like you were out of your mind?  Yep.  Been there.  Recently.   Let me tell you about it!   

The first thing was that when I went to Israel, I came back and quit my job to ‘work’ as a volunteer.  Then I joined the Catholic Church.  That raised more than a few eyebrows.  Then I went to Italy.  I felt led to go to school up here in Ohio… and someone called me a ‘pinball’, lol.  I’m too old for campus housing, but God had a house saved just for me.  (Now y’all can pray I find the right people to help me with it!)

In four days I’ve gained:  a college, a house, a bank, a church family, a real estate agent and some new friends.  I’ve been to Wal-Mart, Kroger, JoAnn, the mall, the movies (I saw “War Room” for the FOURTH time last night.  Seriously, it’s that good!) and three churches!

But there’s another side to God’s faithfulness folks never talk about.  What about when things don’t go our way?  Or when God decides to show you He has been watching all along, and something you thought you were getting away with suddenly becomes an issue?

On the way, I discovered I had hugely misjudged the amount of time it would take to drive up.  Several things turned a 9-1/2 hour trip into a 13 hour trip.  We’ve all driven on the interstate and seen traffic cooking along way over the speed limit, right?  But Romans 13 still applies.  Let me share it with you.

Romans 13    (NRSVCE) –Being Subject to Authorities

13 Let every person be subject to the governing authorities; for there is no authority except from God, and those authorities that exist have been instituted by God. Therefore whoever resists authority resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment. For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Do you wish to have no fear of the authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive its approval; for it is God’s servant for your good. But if you do what is wrong, you should be afraid, for the authority does not bear the sword in vain! It is the servant of God to execute wrath on the wrongdoer. Therefore one must be subject, not only because of wrath but also because of conscience. For the same reason you also pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, busy with this very thing. Pay to all what is due them—taxes to whom taxes are due, revenue to whom revenue is due, respect to whom respect is due, honor to whom honor is due.

That’s a mouth full!  Anyway, I was running really late.  So, on a stretch of straight, level road with perfect conditions and very light traffic, I decided to kick up my speed to about 90 in a 70.   Remember I told you God is faithful?  He’s faithful to His Word, and He’s faithful to help us walk in His ways if we ask.  It’s one of my daily prayers.  I’d been doing 90 for about, oh, 10 minutes when God showed His faithfulness to me.  He sent a very jolly and friendly officer to help me obey the law.  Yes, I got the ticket.  Yes, it’s gonna be VERY expensive.  And I got His point.  He does care about speed limits, my safety and my heart attitude of submission to His Word in every area of my life.  What was my reaction?  I cried.  I cried because I was tired and still had a very long way to go.  I cried because I knew I was wrong.  I cried because I was so thankful that He remains faithful, even when we are faithless – when we choose not to believe that He means what He says.  I prayed.  I prayed, I’m sorry.  I prayed, Thank You for showing Your faithfulness to me.

What about you?  Is there a place like that in your life where God is showing His faithfulness, but it’s uncomfortable?  Do you need to talk to someone about it?  Find a pastor or priest.  They will be glad to help you sort it out and recognize God’s faithfulness in the midst!

Leave a Reply

