Gratitude

Hey there!   How is everybody?   Are all y’all ready for Thanksgiving?   Got the turkey bought, the dressing planned, the guests invited, the desserts covered?  If you’ve done all that, you need a break!  Grab a cuppa (or maybe you’ve been working hard enough to need an iced tea!) and find a comfy spot to sit a minute.  Thanksgiving is not just about food and family gatherings, you know.  Or have we all forgotten that it’s about more than a football game? 

God has given every one of us amazing blessings, if we only stop a minute to really think about it.  In just the past year and a half, I’ve been incredibly blessed.  I always wondered what ‘pressed down, shaken together, running over…’ meant (Luke 6:38).  I think I know, now!   I’ve been given incredible blessings – a new way to express my faith toward God; the chance to get an education; a new house; wonderful new people; opportunities to travel; deeper faith…  Those are just the obvious ‘biggies’!

I’ve been blessed with a wonderful spiritual mentor and a caring parish priest.  I’ve been given the opportunity to chase a dream at a retreat center.  I’ve been given the blessing of watching my grandson grow from an infant to a smart, active, healthy toddler.  My own health has been good.  My family’s health has been good.  We’ve all been able to be together for holidays and birthdays.

Past that, I have good friends, a dependable vehicle, a loyal dog, great neighbors, financial stability.  I have health insurance and access to excellent health care.

Beyond that, I have sight, hearing, voice, mind, senses of taste, touch and smell.  I have all my body parts where they should be.  I am not in chronic pain.

I have gifts and talents – singing, writing, sewing, encouraging others, intercessory prayer, teaching.  I’m blessed to be able to use most of them on a daily basis.

There’s food in my fridge, clothes in my closet and gas in my tank.  I have heat when it’s cold and air conditioning when it’s hot.  I have a comfy bed to sleep in at night.

My biggest blessing?  God loves me.  Jesus died on the cross to save me from hell, due to my own sins.  He allowed me to turn around and ask for His mercy and His forgiveness when I was a bitter enemy.  Not only did He allow me to ask, He gave it freely!  Now I have a future in heaven to look forward to!

What do you have?  Take a few minutes and make your own list.   You may be quite surprised.  Then take a few minutes to discover the real meaning of Thanksgiving.  Tell God “Thank You” for all His many blessings in your life.

If you’re not sure you have a good relationship with Him, find a pastor or priest.  They will be so excited to help you be sure you’re on good terms with Him.  His heart is to pour out blessing after blessing on us.  Our job is to be grateful.  Not just at Thanksgiving, but every day.

Leave a Reply

