Permission Granted!

Hey there!   I know it’s been almost a month!  Life is crazy, but it’s all okay.   Grab a cuppa something, and I’ll tell you more about the adventure.  The weather is crazy here, each week it seems like we have snow and temps in the 50’s a few days later.  It snowed today, is supposed to reach upper 40’s this weekend, low 50’s all next week and rainy, then snow again.  College is quite the adventure, too.  Find a comfy spot, and I’ll tell you more!

Last time, I talked about all the permissions I’d given myself.  I’ve really had to use those!  I’m not making straight A’s.  That’s okay.   I found out really quickly that 18 hours was too much.  So, I used the permission to drop a class.  Although it was academically the easiest, I dropped my evening class.  I totally underestimated how tired I would be after a full day of studies.  Coming back for an evening class wasn’t working at all for me.  I had also signed up for an hour of prayer time after that class in the college Adoration chapel.  I gave that spot to someone else.  You know what?  I’m much more relaxed and happier since I did those two things.

A permission I’ve discovered, and taken myself up on, is the permission to work on figuring out a schedule that works for me.  Ms. Katy was wonderful and helped me begin thinking about that.  I’ve played with several schedules, fine tuning, figuring out what doesn’t work… and moving toward what will work for me.  I thought getting all caught up would take about a week or so; I was wrong.  I’m still working on it, but definitely see light at the end of the tunnel.  The world didn’t stop and wait for me.  Neither did my classes and professors, lol.

Apparently I still have quite a challenging schedule.  Biology, Literature, History, Philosophy.  Lots of heavy reading.  Philosophy is still a mystery.  We took our midterm but don’t have the grades back; I’ll be shocked if I get past a C-.  But it’s okay, it’s still passing.  I gave myself permission to not have straight A’s, right?  Then there’s Art History.  The jury’s out – our midterm is next week.  I have a lot to catch up on this weekend!

I’m not involved in a lot of stuff outside of class at all.   I’m forgetting people’s names.  I’m only attending Mass on the weekends.  It’s okay.  I hope to have a good handle on things by the end of the semester.

In spite of all that, I’ve been to a few things outside of class.  We had a great women’s evening awhile back, here in the gym.  Last weekend we had a dynamite retreat – Born of the Spirit – a charismatic retreat to get folks acquainted with that part of the Franciscan Spirituality.   Mass all three days, and lots of praise and worship times, and prayer times.  Saturday evening alone, we had over 5 hours of praise, worship, prayer teams and several folks who did individual deeper prayer with people.  It was a wonderful weekend!  I was able to chat with a priest, and received some healing from some old, deep issues, as well as some wonderful encouragement that says I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be, doing exactly what I’m to be doing.

For Lent, I’m not too focused on anything specific.  I’m concentrating on keeping joy, staying patient with all the crazy circumstances, and continuing to do the things I need to do.  I’m focusing on being thankful – for friends and people who care about me, for a warm and dry and safe place to stay.  I am so blessed!  Food to eat, clothes to wear, car to drive, money for what I need.  I suppose I could say I gave up my house –  or houses.  See, a friend had a fire and her family is in my Kansas house.  That means when I go home for spring break, I will be staying with other people.  I might be in as many as three different places that week!  When I come back to Ohio, I might get to move into my own place.  That will be wonderful!

Now, what about you?  Have you given any thought to your own needed ‘permissions’?  Are you stuck?  Do you need someone to help you navigate these areas?  Find a pastor or a priest.  They will be glad to help you find out what you need to be doing, or maybe not doing, and help you find out what Jesus really wants for you.  His ways are always the best, and bring the best freedom and joy!

Gotta run.  Lots of reading to do, but right now it’s time to sleep.  I’ll be back soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

