Just when you thought it was safe…

Hey, y’all!  I’m ba-ack!   Didja miss me?  I had no idea what I was in for when I jumped onto this rocket ship.  When I look back at the last few days, weeks or months, I just want to hibernate like an ol’ bear and sleep for about six weeks.  Maybe in August, lol.   For inquiring minds who want to know what I’ve been up to, I’ve been up to my eyeballs.   I am seriously writing a book.  I’m calling it “101 Days:  The Homeless Homeowner”.   Find a comfy spot so at least one of us can relax, and grab a cuppa something.  Let me give you the Cliff (or maybe over the cliff?) Notes!

I arrived in Ohio thinking I had a place to stay.  Oops.  I was led to the only hotel in town that would allow my dear sweet Sadie dog, and we were there for 101 days.  Really.  At spring break when I went back home, I couldn’t stay in my own house; a friend had had a house fire, so they were staying there.  I bunked in a few places, and did just fine.  I realized I didn’t truly need a house in Kansas at that point.  The Ohio remodel dragged on and on and on…  Ever seen the movie “The Money Pit”?   Every thing we did led to another.  I ended up rebuilding a house.

For anyone who’s considering returning to school midlife, go for it!  After being out of school for 20 years, I thought I’d do my normal straight A’s without cracking a book.  Oops.  I pulled up my big girl panties and began to study for dear life.  I ended up with a 3.4 GPA.  Not bad… especially considering I basically moved 4 times in four months.  We finally moved all my stuff out of storage and the hotel into the house the week before finals.  Yep, I spent the entire semester in the hotel with the dog.

God led me to an incredible General Contractor who was able to work well with me on what I actually wanted to do in the house, could communicate just as well via text from halfway around the world, and suggested things I wanted before I mentioned them.  We’re family now, lol.  Unfortunately, the subcontractors in Steubenville all must have heard I was coming, so they all hired a new crew and sent them to my house.  Oops.  We’ve had all sorts of adventures. Pick a system – we’ve redone it.  Plumbing, electrical, floors, plaster, HVAC, concrete work, cabinetry, bathtubs, etc. etc.  Often, the original subcontracting crew had to be followed by a more, let’s say “experienced” crew.

And there were other cat-tastrophes, too.  Several feral cats came right in the front door and wouldn’t leave… they autographed the house in various ways.  That held us up a month, and we had to have the brand new carpets cleaned.

The good news about all this?  For all but about six hours over four months, God has showered me with joy, peace, and patience beyond all understanding.  He’s got this and it’s all gonna be okay.  I ended up having to sell the Kansas house.  Just another invitation from Jesus to leave the (safety, fall-back plan) nets and follow Him.  I have wonderful friends all over the country who have prayed for me, with me and comforted me in the rough spots.

So, what about you?  What are the ‘Oops’ in your life?  Where are things not going well?  Where is your patience being tried like Job?  How are you handling it?  You don’t have to go crazy with the craziness of life.

Pray honest prayers.  “Lord, I don’t understand why this problem is here.  But, You knew I’d be in this place before I ever took my first breath.  I choose to trust that You are in control and will work all things for my good.”  Believe me, I had lots of practice.  But He always answered.  Every time.  Every single time.

Instead of fretting, worrying, wringing your hands, and letting yourself go mentally crazy, sit down, take a deep breath and focus on Jesus.  If you can get still long enough (10 minutes can easily do it!) to just be with Him, He will give you His love and peace.  There’s nothing in this world that’s better than that.  Believe me, I know.  I’ve tried most of them.

Still feeling like you’re in way over your head?  Can’t find Jesus?  Find a pastor or priest.  Sit down and talk to them.  They can help you find the peace you need to survive – even thrive –  in the craziness we call life.

 

 

 

Leave a comment